Where Time Stands Still

I thought the books were lying

I didn’t think that time ever stood still when lovers looked at each other

And for me, time doesn’t stop when I look at you

Instead everything around you speeds up

But you stay the same

And when you reach out and touch me

The sands of time stop

The grandfather clock in my living room freezes

The night extends into eternity

The world stops revolving when you kiss me

And gravity no longer exists when your skin is against mine

There is no past

There is no future

Time stands still

Your hands are in no hurry to bring the world back to life

Because I am your world

And your eyes are my clock

And when you leave in the morning everything comes back to life

And the people, they have no idea what we do

It’ll be our little secret when the clocks stop

