Greatest soul there ever was

I have a story of this girl that I’d like to share.

I moved to Portland in the hopes that I could discover what the hell I wanted to do with the rest of my life. Leaving college to work and seek opportunities the city had seemed a lot easier in my head. But nothing ever turns out the way you expect it to. I was an island girl alone in a city with nothing going for me but my determination. I was lucky enough to find two jobs and immerse myself into work so that I didn’t have a chance to miss home too much. And that’s when I met Daisy. She is the most radiant soul I’ve ever come across. Crazy and filled with laughter and knowing exactly what she wanted from the world. She took me under her wing and got me through the hard days when anxiety made it impossible for me to concentrate on the positive things in my life.

You may be the most worried and anxious person in this world but if you spent five minutes with Daisy you would be laughing your ass off and forget about whatever you were crying over just moments before. She would come over to my house and crawl under my comforter and fall asleep. And I was content to have her next to me, even if she was unconscious and drooling on my pillow. She rekindled my faith and reminded me that there is love and hope in this world that seemed so selfish. She would drive me around in her little bug car that she could barely navigate on the city streets and we would sing to Vance Joy and talk about boys who broke our hearts and laugh about how stupid we were back then.

She had a dream of moving to Australia to work for a non-profit that builds communities for the less fortunate. And when she moved I thought I’d be okay. I thought I had my fill and I was inspired beyond belief to move onto living out my dreams. But God I miss her so much. Friends didn’t come easily for me growing up, and Daisy was a rare gem that made me wonder about this world and the people inhabiting it. She simply didn’t care what people thought about her. She would snort loudly when she laughed and she would run around in public like a child first discovering a playground. This girl radiates love, an attribute that most people have to work incredibly hard to have. I wish I could have half the patience and kindness for people as she has. But I’ll have to settle for being the pessimistic girl who is terrified of rejection and loss. And I’m okay with that. Because as long as I have Daisy there is hope for that fear I hold close to my heart.

We don’t talk much anymore since she left. But I know she’s out there blessing people with her heart and her smile. And Daisy, wherever the hell you are, I love and miss you so much that it hurts. But I know that it’s not the end of the world. It never is unless you let it be. You taught me that.

 

 

